Prince vs. Dump

PrinceJames McNew

Dump is a solo project by Yo La Tengo bassist James McNew. McNew had released a cassette-only album entitled That Skinny Motherfucker with the High Voice? on which he burned through some dreamy, home-recorded Prince covers.

I first heard Dump when a dear friend (who happened to be a huge Yo La Tengo fan) discovered I was a huge Prince fan and the two of us shared a you-got-chocolate-in-my-peanut-butter moment. I would swear I heard it around 1999 (no Prince-related joke intended), but everything says it came out in 2001. Hmmm… I love when I get my own narrative wrong.

Well, clearly I have absolutely nothing interesting to say about it, so do us both a favor and just listen.

mp3: Dump – When U Were Mine

mp3: Dump – Raspberry Beret

mp3: Dump – 1999

See also: Prince vs. My Morning Jacket

3 responses to “Prince vs. Dump

  1. I heard a cover of ‘1999’ that sounded just like this too, and I know for SURE it had to be before 2000.

  2. i’m sure it was ’97 to ’98 when i heard this. i remember the day pretty clearly.

  3. Dump’s album was released as a cassette in 1998. Check discogs.com: http://www.discogs.com/Dump-That-Skinny-Motherfucker-With-The-High-Voice/master/151461

    The CD was released in 2001.

Leave a comment